Friday, January 26, 2007

A Look at the Senate Agriculture Committee

The Senate Agriculture Committee is where the action will be for the discussion of the 2007 Farm Bill and other important agricultural related legislation. Let's take a brief look at the committee, it's members and what is currently happening.

Senator Tom Harkin D- Iowa is the current committee Chair.
He first won election to the U.S. Congress from Iowa's Fifth Congressional
District in 1974, defeating an incumbent in a long-standing Republican district.
Tom served in the House of Representatives for ten years and, in 1984, he
again challenged an incumbent, winning election to the U.S. Senate. Iowans
returned him to the U.S. Senate in 1990, 1996 and again in 2002, making him the
first Iowa Democrat ever to earn a fourth Senate term.
The committee has 21 members and has 4 subcommittees: Subcommittee on Production and Price Competitiveness, Subcommittee on Marketing, Inspection, and Product Promotion, Subcommittee on Forestry, Conservation, and Rural Revitalization, and Subcommittee on Research, Nutrition, and General Legislation.
The current membership of the committee includes:
American Farmer will follow the committee actions during the coming 110th Congressional session.

No comments: